Whoopie Pies should be called Mmm Pies. (Picture Heavy)

Ahh, the long awaited Whoopie Pie post. Unfortunately these have been gobbled up by now, since I’m pretty sure I made them a month ago. But golly gracious they were amazing while they lasted. I used this gluten-free recipe from Gluten Free Canteen. Super simple. Super quick. And if you don’t feel up to eating the gluten free kind (it tastes just like normal cake thahnk yahou vahhry mahch) I’m sure it could be substituted with another Betty Crocker mix that’s chock full of gluten!!! I also bet, that you could take vanilla cake mix, add in some pumpkin and spice, and have yourself a Pumpkin Whoopie Pie….But that’s just me!

So you follow the instructions, mix it all up, plop it on the pan, blah blah blah, and then put it in the oven for maybe 8-10 minutes, depending on how big they are.

Speaking of, I really recommend not making them as huge as I did, it was a lot of whoopie pie to try and shove in your mouth, along with all the icing.

Make the frosting while the whoopies are cookin’. The recipe calls for icing and Marshmallow Fluff, and as yummy as it was, if you want the icing to go on easier, I recommend just using the icing. Also, before you put the icing on the whoopies, let it set up in the ‘fridge for a little while. I was like, supa’ desperate to try them as soon as they came out of the oven, so I smeared it on, and, as a result, got it all over myself. It was kinda melty. So, as a safety precaution, resist your indulgence and put it in the ‘fridge.

Oh snap! They’re done! Pull ’em out, let them cool for a few minutes, and (if you remembered to grease the pan) they’ll come right off, no sticky mess!

You don’t have to just put the icing on it, we also used a peanut butter frosting Tim made months ago, and just plain ol’ peanut butter :) Ice cream would be incredible with this, especially since the pies hold up so well. They’re very sturdy.

Ta da!!!! So yummy. And what a lovely picture of Tim’s feet.

What will the verdict be?

A happy husband. Success!!! 

I can’t wait to make these again and take them to social gatherings. Boo yah. Shelby can’t make Mac n’ Cheese, but I can make this.  See it. Eat it. Believe it.

I realize my pictures suck. I want to make them better. However I am a poor little college student. If anyone has any suggestions on how to make my images better, how to edit them, or what cameras I should look into for better image quality, I would so appreciate it!

I’m making a skirt as well! I’ll post pictures later this week, once I’m able to get it on a mannequin : ) Have an Autumny week!

-Shelby

Leave a Reply

